My favourite MAC Cosmetics lipsticks. ♛

Hey everyone ❤

Today I am talking about, and showing you swatches of some of my favourite lipsticks from MAC Cosmetics. There is nothing  more daunting than going into store and not having the faintest idea of what you’re going to choose, especially when there are so many to choose from, so I’ve chosen 10 lipsticks that I think you need to try! I’ve tried to narrow mine down- trying to use different colours and finishes. (Mind due, notice most of them are pink tones!). I have included a swatch picture with and without flash so you’re able to see true colours of each lipstick, under two different lighting situations.

mac-lipsticks-5-labelled

  • Rebel: Satin finish: ‘Midtonal cream plum’

This is such a deep, sexy colour! I love to wear this with a simple outfit, such as all black, to add an edge of sophistication. I love this mostly for evenings out, and winter, and really enjoy the satin formula of this. Unfortunately, a lot of darker lip products that I’ve tried appear to have been very drying on the lips, however Rebel offers a creamy formula which sits comfortably on the lips, without losing the pigment element too!

  • Chatterbox: Amplified creme finish: ‘Bright red pink’

This is a very girly, pink shade. If you’re not a fan of pink, this one might not be for youm as it really is very pink. This is a very, (as the name suggests), amplified colour- which offers so much colour pay off. (The swatches are literally one swipe across on the arm). The colour is beautiful and the formula is creamy and opaque. I prefer to lightly dab this onto my lips and pop a gloss over the top for more of a natural finish.

  • Captive: Satin finish: ‘Pinkish plum’

This really is one of my favourite colours that MAC do. It’s dark enough to add warmth and depth to your make up look, but the pink undertone is still very flattering, even on paler skin tones. I sometimes find darker tones can ‘wash me out’, however this is perfect. Again, the satin finish is really lovely on the lips, and is very comfortable to wear daily.

  • All fired up: Retro matte finish: ‘Bright fuchsia’

This a very bright and true fuchsia, that is VERY matte, as are all of the matte’s from MAC. This particular shade is one of their ‘retro matte’ designs, meaning it’s ‘extra matte’, as such. The matte’s aren’t necessarily my favourite finish of MAC lipsticks, however, I had to include this one purely down to it’s stunning colour! Everyone needs a bright matte in their collection to brighten up any simple eye look!

  • Verve: Satin finish: ‘Muted brownish plum’

This is the browner sister to Captive. Again, I love this, mostly for winter time, however this is great for nights out, and if you’re wanting to add a sophisticated finish to your make up look. Once again, in the satin finish, it sits beautifully and very comfortably on the lips and is great paired with any eye look, thanks to it’s warm, brown undertones. This looks beautiful paired with a pink gloss dabbed on top.

  • Kinda sexy: Matte finish: ‘Neutral pinky rose’

If you’re looking for that ideal pink nude shade that stays all day, this could be the one for you! Definitely more on the pink side of the nude spectrum, this colour is perfect for any every day look! As I mentioned previously, matte’s aren’t my favourite finish from MAC, however the colour of this is great, and I tend to pop a gloss over the top anyway, which introduces more of a comfortable and wearable finish.

  • Spirit: Satin finish: ‘Muted pink beige brown’

Possibly my favourite shade from MAC, aside from Viva Glam 2, which I couldn’t include in this post, as I’ve completely gone through x3 tubes of it and am yet to order another. Just beautiful! I love this shade so much, the perfect brown-pink, your lips but better nude. Cannot say enough good words about this shade. I think this would suit all types of skin shades also.

  • Amourous: Satin finish: ‘Lovestruck cranberry’

Again, very similar to Captive. (Notice the pattern with my favourites) Beautiful for winter, Christmas parties, cold nights at the fireworks, or again just to add a bit of spice to a simple eye look during the day. Really love this one.

  • Bombshell: Frost finish: ‘Bright rosy pink with shimmer’

This is such a gorgeous colour if you’re not wanting to add a lot. I love this paired over the top of the likes of Spirit and Viva Glam 2. It’s a very pinky- shimmer, and works almost as a gloss… but thicker in finish. This is probably a good one for those of you still at school, who are looking for something super natural…. Or if you’re just looking for more of a natural finish. The frost finishes are great to achieve this kind of look.

  • Costa chic: Frost finish: ‘Frosty light coral’

A very pinky coral colour. Possibly my favourite summer lipstick! Again, a frost finish, which offers a wash of colour, which is just enough with this bright shade. I would perhaps say that this is more of a pigmented finish than Bombshell, despite being the same formula. I cannot tell you how amazing this colour looks with a tan also!

Overall, I would highly recommend MAC lipsticks, especially the Satin formulas. They glide on the lips, with great colour pay off, and offer such a fantastic range of colours.

What are your favourites? Do you have any to recommend? Comment below.

Hope you enjoyed reading.

Shona xo

 

*please note all products used are my own and were purchased with my own money.

*all products have only been swatched with one ‘swipe’.

*all opinions given are my own and work for me.

 

Leave a Reply

